About the Swansea electorate

The Swansea Electorate was created in 1981, extending as far north as Redhead, Valentine, Belmont North and Jewels and reaching right down to San Remo and Budgewoi in the south. The population of the Swansea electorate is just over 63,000 and occupies and area of 191 square kilometres. 

The Electorate takes in traditional lands of the Awabakal people and, to the south, the Darkinjung people. Historically the area was known for its wonderful wildlife, abundant fishing and natural resources such as coal. 

The Swansea Electorate is lucky to be spoilt by diverse landscape with beautiful lakes, magnificent ocean and thick bushland. The electorate is rich with surf and sailing clubs, community groups, sporting and social groups, not to mention our schools and hospitals, TAFE, shops, restaurants and libraries. 

Suburbs in the Electorate include: Belmont, Belmont North, Belmont South, Blacksmiths, Budgewoi, Buff Point, Cams Wharf, Catherine Hill Bay, Caves Beach, Chain Valley Bay, Colongra, Crangan Bay, Croudace Bay, Doyalson, Doyalson North, Floraville, Gwandalan, Halekulani, Jewells, Kingfisher Shores, Lake Munmorah, Little Pelican, Mannering Park, Marks Point, Murrays Beach, Nords Wharf, Pelican, Pinny Beach, Point Wolstoncroft,Redhead, San Remo, Summerland Point, Swansea, Swansea Heads, Valentine. 

 Postcodes include: 2259, 2262, 2280, 2281, 2290